Story of the Dominican Republic Rum

The origins of the rum take place in South America, transformed from sugar cane or sugar industry-issued products. It is consumed white, oak-barrel aged or spiced and takes then a darker tone. Depending on the products used for preparation, it takes the name of "agricultural or industrial rum.

  • Rhum, of french tradition, imported centuries ago via Bordeaux, Nantes & La Rochelle harbors
  • Rum, english tradition, drank by the royal navy
  • Ron, hispanic tradition, lighter


Spanish immigrants imported rum in Dominican Republic since the end of the 19th century. Local population appreciate local quality rums served on the island. Only 10% of rum production is exported.


Early in history the island producers take a turn towards sustainable agriculture. Some of them have been pioneer companies thanks to the mastering of the local cane procurement and distillation process mastery. For decades local companies started important eco-friendly programs, improving in the meantime quality of Dominican produced rums.

Carribean rums taste smooth, light and often sweet.

The Soléra technique is mostly used and blurs the age tracking of the rum.

Three brands holds the market in Dominican Republic : the famous Brugal, Barcelo and Bermudez. The most consumed rum is the Brugal Extra Viejo Rum, created in 1888 in Puerto Plata by Andrés Brugal Montaner, grandfather of the current owner. He learned everything in Cuba, from the blending technique to the cane production and fermentation

White rum is one or two years younger than dark rum (15 years old with ambered colour). Rum is aged in barrels used to produce the famous spanish Xerez Wine.

BACK TO TOP
English en

L'histoire du rhum de République Dominicaine

C'est une eau-de-vie dont l'origine est d'Amérique du Sud, transformée à partir de la canne à sucre ou de produits issus de l'industrie sucrière. Il est consommé blanc, vieilli en fût (rhum vieux) ou épicé. Il prend alors une coloration ambrée plus ou moins foncée. En fonction des produits utilisés lors de sa préparation, il peut être appelé agricole ou industriel.

  • Rhum, de tradition française, importé à l'époque sur les ports de Bordeaux, Nantes et La Rochelle
  • Rum, de tradition anglaise, consommé par la navy
  • Ron, de tradition hispanique, plus léger


Les immigrants espagnols imposent le rhum en République Dominicaine depuis la fin du 19ème siècle. La population locale apprécient les rhums locaux de qualité, qu'ils consomment sur place. Seul 10% du rhum est exporté.


Les producteurs de l'île prennent tôt un virage vers une agriculture raisonnée. Certaines entreprises sont pionnières dans le secteur grâce à la maîtrise de son approvisionnement en canne à sucre locale ainsi que sa maitrise de la distillation. Depuis plusieurs décennies, des sociétés locales ont engagé des programmes importants visant à respecter l’environnement tout en améliorant constamment la qualité des rhums produits en République Dominicaine.

Les rhums produits dans les Caraïbes sont souples, légers, souvent sucrés.

La technique de Soléra dans l'île est très utilisée et rend la traçabilité dans l’âge des rhums plus difficile.

Trois marques, les 3 B, se partagent le marché en république dominicaine : Brugal (le plus connu), Barcelo et Bermudez (plus rare). Le plus répandu est le rhum Brugal Extra Viejo, fondé en 1888 à Puerto Plata par Andrés Brugal Montaner, le grand-père de l'actuel dirigeant. Il a tout appris à Cuba : la technique du blending, l'élaboration du sucre de canne, la fermentation...

Le rhum blanc est le plus jeune, de un à deux ans, le rhum brun est plus âgé (15 ans d'âge avec leur couleur ambre). Il est vieilli dans les tonneaux qui ont servi au fameux vin Xerez espagnol.

RETOUR EN HAUT